DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT

NO. 4566 28 March 2024

INVITATION FOR NOMINATIONS OF PERSONS TO SERVE AS MEMBERS OF THE AARTO APPEALS TRIBUNAL (AAT)

The Appeals Tribunal is a juristic person established in terms of section 16 of the Administrative Adjudication of Road Traffic Offences Amendment Act, 2019 (Act No. 4 of 2019) ("the Act") for the purposes of adjudicating on matters brought to it by infringer(s) aggrieved by a decision taken by the representations officer in terms of the Act; to hear appeals or reviews against any decision of the representation officer that may in terms of the Act be referred to it and to make any ruling or order necessary or incidental to the performance of its functions in terms of the Act.

Section 16 of the Act provides that the Appeals Tribunal consists of a Chairperson and eight other persons appointed by the President, on a part-time basis, and on the recommendation of the Minister, from among those persons nominated by the Minister in response to a public call for nominations.

Members of the Appeals Tribunal hold office for a period of five (5) years and on expiry of such term, members may be eligible for reappointment by the President for one additional term only. The Act empowers the Minister to determine other conditions of appointment.

When viewed collectively members of the Appeals Tribunal must-

- (i) represent a broad cross-section of the population of the Republic; and
- (ii) comprise sufficient persons with legal qualifications and knowledge or experience in road traffic and road transport related matters.

Each member of the Appeals Tribunal must-

- a. be a citizen of South Africa, who is ordinarily resident in the Republic;
- have suitable qualifications and experience in a field related to road traffic and transport legislation or any special skills, qualifications, expertise or experience in matters concerning legal, financial and economic matters; and
- c. be committed to the purpose of the Act.

Nominations must contain the full name and address of the interested parties making the nominations, a motivation accompanied by a signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee, ID copy and Curriculum Vitae of the nominee providing, amongst others, the candidate's:

- □ Full name and gender
- ☐ Contact address, telephone and fax numbers and e-mail address
- Previous experience and relevant expertise, quoting dates and organisations concerned
- Academic qualifications.

The nomination must be forwarded to: Adv James Mlawu, The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X193, Pretoria, 0001 For attention: Adv. N.A Thoka, (012) 309 3764 or Mr John Motsatsing, 012 309 3574/3114. E-mail: Motsatsi@dot.gov.za or ThokaN@dot.gov.za

The nominations must reach the Department within 14 days after the publication of this notice in the Government Gazette. Nominations received after closing date will not be considered and persons who applied before need not re-submit their applications.

